Homemade Fajitas

I love fajitas. LOVE them. I’d eat them every week if I could,  and if my family liked to have them as much as me. Lately I’ve been craving them ridiculous amounts, it seems that every time I choose to have chicken for dinner fajitas is the first dish that pops into my head. To satisfy my cravings, I’ve had to come up with an alternative to the Ole Del Paso kits I’m used to using.

Most importantly- the wraps. For a long time after my diagnosis I had fajitas with gluten free pitta bread. This was not the best solution, with the pockets hard to open and fill, and the ‘bread’ so thick that I was quickly full. Since these days we’ve seen the launch of two gluten free wraps on the market, the first from Newburn Bakehouse ( a thick rectangle wrap, available in both white and seeded and recently also dairy free) and the second from Bfree (traditional, thin and round fibre wrap, also dairy free). Now I’m fond of the Newburn wraps but for a dish like fajitas the Bfree wraps are the best, as they’re thinner and therefore don’t fill you up too much.

20140709_192124

 

Onto the filling. I love using the spice mixes readily available in the shops complete with salsa, but as I’m currently trying to lean down a little for holiday (not to mention  the cost) I’m avoiding them. My new favourite cupboard staple is a Schwartz PerfectShake Herb & Spice blend for chicken. Mixed with some tomato puree and coconut oil,  it makes the perfect sauce for chicken and therefore for my fajitas.

 

 

20140710_200548

 

These are ready within 20 minutes,  so they’re perfect for a quick weekday dinner.  If I’m feeling like I need a lighter dish, I swap the wraps for some large lettuce leaves- low carb and healthy! I use whatever veg I have in my fridge and with the sauce I don’t feel the need for any extra salsa, maybe just a little cheese. If you’re dairy free you can just remove the cheese and you’re good to go…simples!

 

20140710_200347

 

 

20140729_201235

 

 

 

 

IMG_20140730_202438

 

Ingredients
For 1 person/ 2 meals

1 large chicken breast
1/2 red pepper
1/2 yellow pepper
1/4 green pepper
1/4 red onion
One large chunk of courgette, thinly sliced
Large handful of cherry tomatoes
Schwartz Herb & Spice blend
2-4 tbsp tomato puree
2 Bfree wraps
1tbsp coconut oil
Extras: Cheese, spinach, salsa, guacamole- if desired.

  1. Heat the coconut oil in a large pan. Add the chicken.
  2. Once cooked, add a good shake of the spice blend (enough to cover all the chicken) and stir until fully covered. Add 1-2 tablespoons of the tomato puree and stir through again.
  3. Add the vegetables and cook until softened.
  4. Repeat the process with the spices and tomato puree.
  5. Serve into two Bfree wraps and enjoy!
2 thoughts on “Homemade Fajitas

Leave a Reply

