Quinoa Risotto

I love making up a quick risotto on rubbish Autumn evenings and adding any veg I can get my hands on. It’s warming and comforting and takes very little brain power to make- perfect after a long commute in the remains of Hurricane Gonzalez! My only issue last night was the lack of rice in my kitchen cupboard, so instead I grabbed my tub of quinoa and thought ‘what the hell’?

I had quinoa risotto last year after seeing a recipe in a foodie magazine, but last night I couldn’t find the magazine nor remember the recipe. So instead I decided, in my signature dinner fashion, to grab what I could find in the cupboards and fridge and throw it in all a pan in the hope of coming up with something remotely risotto-like. Luckily for me, it worked.

I found that using quinoa left me feeling less bloated and ‘heavy’, despite eating the same sized portion I would with normal risotto. It was quick, easy and gloriously tasty, and now I just cannot wait to experiment with different flavours and vegetable combinations.

image

Quinoa Risotto

1/2 tin chopped tomatoes

1/2 cup quinoa

3/4 cup boiling water

1/2 red pepper, chopped

1/2 pepper, chopped

Vegetable stock cube (I use Knorr cubes as these are gluten free)

Handful of pine nuts

Mixed herbs & spices- I used dried mixed herbs, black pepper, crushed chillies and crushed garlic

Rocket to serve

Parmesan to serve

 

1. Add the chopped tomatoes to a saucepan and bring to the boil. Add the quinoa and water and stir well.

2. Crumble the stock cube into the mixture and stir well. Add your chosen spices and herbs and stir well again. Add the chopped vegetables and continue to simmer for 15 minutes or until the liquid has reduced.

3. Just before you’re ready to serve, stir in the pine nuts and some cheese (if you wish).

4. Serve with rocket and your preferred cheese.

It’s that simple….Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Quinoa Risotto

  1. natchinese

    I have found quinoa to be really good when I’ve wanted to ease on rice, and is agreeably a good source of nutrients.

    Really like the recipe idea.

    Thanks for sharing,

    Amie

Leave a Reply

