Gluten Free Apple Pie, ft Silly Yak Pastry

apple-pie-cooked

 

If you follow me on social media you would have seen my posts bragging about my awesome gluten free Apple Pie I made last week. It’s seriously so good, even if I do say so myself. wBut I have to admit that it isn’t quite as homemade as I make out….I actually use a ready-made gluten free pastry!!

Now, look out for my full review and interview with Silly Yak, who make the ready-roll pastry, which I’ll post in the next few weeks….

silly-yak-pastry

 

But back to the Apple Pie. It’s always been a family favourite and for the last few years, something I make as soon as Autumn shows it’s colourful face. A comfort food that I enjoy making, it helps it’s one of my boyfriend’s favourite desserts too! It will make an appearance regularly over the next few months…actually, pretty much until Summer is back next year!

I love the simplicity of the recipe, with just a few ingredients and a very simple and quick preparation. It packs a sweet punch and is perfect to warm up those colder, darker nights.

Recipe

3 large cooking apples
1 pack of Silly Yak Ready-Roll Pastry
100g golden caster sugar
1 tbsp gluten free flour
1tsp cinnamon
1 tbsp milk, for glazing
1 tbsp golden caster sugar, for dusting

 

  1. Peel, core and slice your apples and place in a bowl of cold water to prevent browning. The thickness of the slices depends on your preference- I slice mine to around 0.5cm thick.
  2. Dust your surface with flour and roll out your gluten free pastry to the thickness of no more than a £1 coin. Roll it out to slightly bigger than the top of your pie dish, so there is over hang. Place in the base of your pie dish and push into the edge of the base. Leaving a slight overhang, cut off any excessive pastry.
    (It’s good to have a little over hang because as the pastry cooks, it will shrink. The overhang keeps it to the edge of the tin, so it fits to the top pastry case). 
  3. In a bowl, mix together the caster sugar, flour and cinnamon.
  4. Drain the apple slices and pat them dry with a clean tea towel or kitchen paper. Transfer them into the bowl with the sugar mixture. apple-pie-1
  5. Mix thoroughly until all of the apples are coated with the mixture, then transfer into the pastry dish. Spread the apples around the pastry base evenly, and so they’re not sticking out of the top too much (you may have a little apple leftover).
  6. Gently brush the edges of the pastry with some of the milk.
  7. Roll out the rest of the pastry to make the case topping, again to a £1 coin thickness and bigger than the pastry dish.
  8. Lay the pastry over the apple mixture, gently pressing it in to the edges of the base to seal. Trim the edges with a sharp knife.
  9. Using the leftover pastry that you’ve cut off, make four small leaves to place on top of the case for decoration. Using a knife, make a leaf pattern on them for extra effect.
  10. Brush the top of the pastry with the rest of the milk. Place the leaves on the top and then dust the whole thing with the rest of the caster sugar.
  11. Bake in the oven at 190°C/Gas 5 for 40 minutes, until the pastry is golden brown and crispy. You may need to turn the dish so it browns evenly on all sides.
  12. Leave to cool for 10 minutes then serve- try it with custard, cream or ice cream.

apple-pie-cooked

My favourite way to serve apple pie is with warmed custard and a little more sugar sprinkled on the top. I actually make it without the cinnamon as my boyfriend doesn’t like it, so I sprinkle some into the custard instead so I don’t miss out.

apple-pie-and-custard

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

